The most beautiful building on the yellow cobblestones – the former headquarters of DZI on Tsar Osvoboditel Blvd. in the heart of Sofia has become the corporate office of Hidrostroy JSC.
The authors of the monumental building are Georgi Fingov, Nikola Yurukov and Dimo Nichev. Other emblematic buildings in the capital, such as the former Sofia Bank on “Moskovska” Street and the Bulgarian Commercial Bank, are also the work of the same trio of designers.
The construction of the building of the Official Cooperative Savings Insurance Company began in the fall of 1914. Then Andrey Lyapchev, Kiril Popov, Todor Vlaikov and other prominent Bulgarians decided to build an impressive building to house the insurance company. Construction lasted for 12 years and was completed in 1926.
The building consists of six floors and an attic. It has a basement, a ground floor with cash lounges, six floors for office space and a total built-up area of 10,620 sq. m. The tall building ends with an eight-walled dome.
With its unique sculptural composition of three figures, it is undoubtedly the most valuable element in this building. The prominent sculptor Ivan Lazarov entrusts the execution of the work to Todor Deliradev. The sculpture is made of white Vratsa marble. The facade and the overall appearance of the building are designed in a late secession style, influenced by modern classics.
After September 9, 1944, the building was nationalized and a state monopoly was imposed on insurance. After the privatization of DZI, the building became the property of Emil Külev.
The new owner is the Maveli investment company, part of the Hidrostroy corporate family, and the appearance of the building will be fully preserved, as part of the immovable cultural heritage.